Resources

Being self taught, I’ve come to rely on some books and YouTube to learn how to knit. In the beginning, it was not pretty, and to a certain extent, it still isn’t, and that the fun part. I like figuring this hobby out and learning as I go.

THE book

IMG_2634So I took advantage of the demise of a large, corporate book chain going under and reaping the rewards of their clearance sale. This book has been very helpful in walking me through the basics, and provides great insight into how to knit. I like that its visual and builds on basics. Thank you Sharon Turner!!

 

YouTube

I subscribe to a few YouTube channels that show you how to knit. What I love about these sites is that it shows you how everyone knits differently. Some are better at others, but overall, I find searching for specific instruction works best – there’s a lot of teachers online. These are my top sites:

Good Knit Kisses 

With YouTube, you need to take it with a grain if salt, usually you have to get over a punny name or worse. But the content is great. Nice pace, good visuals, good instruction and thorough teachings.

New Stitch a Day

This is a great site – hosted by a dude too! I find it a bit advanced, but its great to learn new stitches and projects

This hat video

This video is amazing at learning how to make a hat. This is the basis that all my hats are based on. This video showed me how to decease stitches. Its an odd video – I love the cut to deer in this lady’s yard half way through.

I find talking to people in wool and craft stores to also be great. I’ll have more on shops in later post, but I found that going to a large outfit like Michael’s to be pretty great when you’re starting out – you don’t want to spend a lot on wool for your first project as it will most likely be pulled apart a few times before you get going.

2 thoughts on “Resources

Leave a comment